Psalm 23

Sheep lack a sense of direction. So do I. Even in familiar territory. Just as sheep rely on the shepherd to guide them, so must I rely on God and my Helper to guide me.

Sheep are defenseless. Unlike the sheep though, I can pretend to have defenses. But that gets in the way of letting God and my helper guide and protect me. My only defense is the Word of God I have hidden in my heart.

Sheep are easily frightened. Hear, hear! Again, like sheep, I am not always aware of my weakness. I go full steam ahead on my own power, not realizing that I can’t do it alone. I’m too busy trying not to admit I’m frightened. I can’t hear my shepherd’s reassuring voice. I must remember Psalm 27:1. “The Lord is my light and my salvation. Whom shall I fear? The Lord is the stronghold of my life. Of whom shall I be afraid?” Sometimes I move faster than God’s light. Sometimes my eyes are shaded by my own self-absorption. Sometimes I wander from the stronghold.

Sheep cannot care for themselves. They don’t keep themselves clean and they can’t find food or water. I am dependent upon God for cleansing and nourishment.

The sheep produces wool which belongs to the shepherd. I produce fruit which belongs to God. God gives me everything I need to produce wool/fruit. God gives me guidance, protection, reassurance, cleansing, food and water. It is my job to be obedient and trust and follow so that the wool/fruit will be of excellent quality.

(Sheep facts from Living Beyond the Daily Grind)

Leave a Reply

