Insights from Psalm 16

Psalm 16:2 “I said to Yahweh, ‘You are my Adonai. Without You, I have nothing good.’”

How true, that without You, I have nothing good. You are the only one who can bring good out of life. You are the only one who can bring good out of bad. You bring good just by being available to bring us through. You bring joy and peace to us no matter what the situation is.

It is also true that with You, I have everything good. With You, I am well-equipped and have everything I need. Everything in my life is according to Your plan. “No good thing do You withhold from those who walk uprightly.” (Psalm 84:11) – in other words, those who walk with You. Just as in creation You said everything was good, everything in my life is working out according to Your plan and therefore, is good.

How I wish the first part of the statement was as true as the second. I wish I could fully and wholeheartedly say, “You are my Adonai”. I must work on making You my owner, master, superior. I must work on being more respectful. I must do the first part, and believe the second.

Psalm 16: 5-6 “Yahweh is my inheritance and my cup. You are the one who determines my destiny. Your boundaries mark out pleasant places for me. Indeed, my inheritance is something beautiful.” (GWT)

God is my inheritance. I’ve inherited from deceased relatives. Earthly, temporal things. I inherited traits and character from my parents. Mamma’s hair, Daddy’s eyes. Mama’s never give up or get even attitude. Daddy’s negativism, isolation and distrust.

God has a different kind of inheritance for me. First of all, heaven, my future home. Second, a spiritual inheritance. The traits and character of Jesus imparted to me through the Holy Spirit: the love, joy, peace, patience, kindness goodness, generosity, faithfulness, meekness, gentleness, discipline and self-control. A rich, everlasting inheritance.

God is my cup. A cup hold liquid or a treasure (rings). A cup in David’s day held wine, the liquid need to sustain a healthy life. A cup holds blessings as well. The cup of the covenant, Christ’s blood and the cup of salvation.

God is the one who determines my destiny. Every event in my life, every circumstance pre-approved by God, arranged by God. God has an end result planned out for me. He knows where He wants me to be and how He’s going to get me there.

God has marked out boundary lines for me. I can only go so far. Others can only come so far. His boundary lines mark out my special place, and it’s a very special place designed just for me.

Indeed, my inheritance is something beautiful. What God has prepared for me and what He’s given me so far touches my heart and spirit deeply and tenderly. No one on earth has done for me what God has done. No one has cared for me as much as God has and does.

Leave a Reply

