It’s a Stewardship

I was updating the company checkbook balance, checking the online account balance and noticed a double charge. I asked, and it’s incorrect, so I’ll have to watch it tomorrow and make arrangements to fix it. I was told it was a good catch.

“It’s a stewardship” popped into my head a few minutes later. It’s a thought that has taken over in my mind, for the more I think “stewardship”, the more things I think of that the word applies to.

My relationship with You is a stewardship. You’re counting on me to spend time with You, to learn and grow. You’re depending on me to spend time in the Word and in prayer.

My health is a stewardship. I am charged with taking care of my body, Your temple. My mental health depends on my trusting every circumstance to You. My emotional health improves when I snuggle up in Your love for me and believe You are abundant and faithful.

My finances and my home are a stewardship You have entrusted to me.

The people in my life are a stewardship from You. You have arranged us in each other’s lives for a blessing, for learning, for comfort and encouragement.

My job is also a stewardship from You. You placed me here to protect the company, to guide it to solid financial ground and keep it there. You have put me here to watch over it for You and to help it to grow, to return a profit for You.

Teaching and writing is stewardship You have given me. There are truths You want explained and told to people that only I can convey with the gifts You have given me.

What a tremendous responsibility! Yet obviously one You have determined that I can accomplish, for You don’t equip us for failure, but for success.

Leave a Reply

