Insights from Numbers

Numbers 14:1-4 (The Israelites hear the spies’ report, fear loss, and being plundered and want to return to Egypt.) There comes a time when it is good to look to the past. When faced with new challenges or overwhelming circumstances, it is a good thing to look back and recount all the good things, all the miracles God has wrought. The Israelites forgot the parting of the Red Sea that afforded them escape. They forgot the drowning of the Egyptian army. Joshua and Caleb remembered – why didn’t they remind the Israelites?

Numbers 18:7 “Only you and your sons may do the work of priests – everything done at the altar and under the canopy. This is my gift to you: You may serve Me as priests.” God’s gift to us is whatever we are called to do to serve Him. But so often we see our calling as a burden and inconvenience. Anything but a gift. Please help me to see every circumstance of my life as Your gift of service to me.

Numbers 25:11 “Phineas, the son of Eleazar, the son of Aaron the priest, has turned away My wrath from the sons of Israel, in that he was jealous with My jealousy among them, so that I did not destroy the sons of Israel in My jealousy.” I remember how jealous I was then my husband took up with another woman and I found pictures of her sitting at “my” kitchen table in “my” house. I was so jealous, I instantly tore them to shreds. Just so, even more so, is God jealous when I worship anyone or anything besides Him.

Leave a Reply

