Insights from Leviticus

That’s right – Leviticus! Who says the Old Testament has no relevance for today?

26:10 “You will eat the old grain of the previous year and will clean out the old to make room for the new.” Any time there’s a change of fortune or circumstances in our lives, it’s a wonderful opportunity to Clean out the old and make room for the new. Moving? Don’t just pack up all the old and haul it along. Sort it out, hand it out, pack what’s left. There’s great satisfaction in cleaning out that junk drawer, or stuffed closet, sorting, getting rid of the junk and replacing everything in good order. There’s even greater satisfaction in cleaning out old attitudes and habits, and making room for new ones!

26:11 “I will place My residence among you and I will not reject you.” God’s house is inside my house. God’s Spirit is inside my spirit. All my life, people have rejected me. Classmates. My father when I married my childhood sweetheart. Friends when I didn’t live up to their expectations or standards. Bosses. Husband when he found someone else. But God never rejected me and He never will!

26:12 “I will walk among you and be your God, and you will be My people.” God walked among the Israelites. They thought He was only in the tabernacle or the temple, but He wasn’t. God literally walked among them when Jesus came. Now He walks among us through the Holy Spirit.

God is my God because I accepted Jesus as my Savior. I am God’s person. God pays special attention to me. Everything I always wanted from people, I won’t find in people or get from people – only in and from God.

26:13 “I am the Lord your God, who brought you out of the land of Egypt, so that you would no longer be slaves.” God is my Lord. God brought me out of the land of co-dependency so that I would no longer be a slave to a father or a husband. God brought me out of the land of people-pleasing, so that I would no longer be a slave to what other people think of me.

Leave a Reply

