Memorable Verses from Jehoshophat

I almost skipped II Chronicles in my reading through the Bible this year. After all, Chronicles is a re-run of Kings and I Chronicles had so many genealogies. But I read I Chronicles so I wouldn’t miss the prayer of Jabez and the introduction to II Chronicles explained how it was focused on Judah and God’s mercy to those who repent and return to Him. Less depressing reading!

When I got to Jehoshophat, I noticed I was writing down several verses to memorize. (These are all from the Names of God Bible-God’s Word Translation – the version I’m reading this time through.)

“He had the confidence to live the way God wanted Him to live” (17:6) Lord, fill me with the confidence to live the way You want me to live.

“But when Jehoshophat cried out, God helped Him” (18:31) How comforting to know that even when I’ve gotten myself into a jam because of foolish choices, I can cry out and God will help me.

“Pay attention to what you’re doing. When you judge, you aren’t doing in for a human, but for God. He will be with you when you hear a case.” (19:6) Lord, remind me to pay attention to what I’m doing whether it’s work or household chores or enjoying Your creation. I’m not doing it for my boss, or my family or myself, but for You. Teach me to acknowledge Your presence with me every moment of every day.

“Do this wholeheartedly – with the fear (awe and reverence) of God and with faithfulness.” (19:9) Lord, make me a whole-hearted woman. No more half-hearted anything. Fill me with awe and reverence for who You are and what You’re doing. Make me as faithful to You and Your work for me as You are to me.

“Be strong and do your job. May God be with those who do right.” (19:11)

When attacked unjustly: “You (God) possess power and might, and no one can oppose You.” (20:6)

“We will cry out to You in our troubles, and You will hear us and save us.” (20:9)

“You’re our Elohim. Won’t You judge them? We don’t have the strength to face this large crowd that is attacking us. We don’t know what to do, so we’re looking to You.” (20:2)

“This is what Yahweh says to you: ‘Don’t be frightened or terrified by this large crowd. The battle isn’t yours. It’s Elohim’s.’” (20:15) (Feel free to substitute your own issue for the word crowd.)

“You won’t fight this battle. Take your position, stand still, and see the victory of Yahweh for you. Don’t be frightened or terrified. Tomorrow go out to face them. Yahweh is with you.” (20:17) What a relief!

“Trust Yahweh your Elohim and believe. Believe His word and you will succeed.” (20:20) Lord, help my unbelief!

Note what’s next: “He (Jehoshophat) appointed people to sing to Yahweh and praise Him for the beauty of His holiness…they sang ‘Thank Yahweh because His mercy endures forever!’ As they started to sing praises, Yahweh set ambushes…they were defeated.” (20:21-22) Lord, put Your songs onto my heart! Surround me with Your peace (20:30)

Set your heart on God! (20:33)

One thought on “Memorable Verses from Jehoshophat

  1. Thank for reminding me of the powerful God we serve. He is The God of mercy, grace and perfect love Who will not leave or forsake me.

    Like

Leave a Reply

