The Widow of Zarephath (I Kings 17:8-24)

God tells Elijah to go to a widow in Zarephath to stay during the drought.  She has a handful of flour in a jar and a little oil in a jug (reminds me of a small number of loaves and a few fish…).  She’s sure about how much she has left because she tells Elijah she’s using it to prepare the last meal for herself and her son. 

Elijah tells the widow that until God sends rain on the land, the jar of flour will never be empty and the jug will always contain oil.  We’re told they had food “for a long time”.  A daily miracle (reminds me of manna in the desert…).

When the widow’s son gets sick and dies, God brings him back to life through Elijah (reminds me of Jesus’ miracles of resurrection…).  Elijah returns the boy to his mother, and then she says, “Now I’m convinced that you are a man of God and that the word of God from your mouth is true.”  Unbelievable. There she was – no bread, only a handful of flour and a little oil.  Elijah tells her plainly that the flour and oil would last until God sent the rain again. And they ate for many days, a long time.  Yet, that wasn’t enough proof for her that Elijah was a man of God and his word was true?

Now why didn’t the long time daily miracle of flour in the jar and oil in the jug replenishing convince her?  Why didn’t she believe until her son was brought back to life?  I find it so hard to understand why the daily miracle wasn’t enough to convince her Elijah was a man of God and make her grateful for God’s intervention in her life.  Every day He saved their lives, but she never recognized or appreciated it.  She doesn’t acknowledge God until her son dies – and she acknowledges God by blaming Him for her son’s death!  How dense!

But then, I am just as dense as she is – we all are.  There are so many daily miracles I take for granted like sight and good health, the job that buys my food and pays my mortgage.  The big miracles have an impact for a short time, but the memory fades and I find myself complaining about something I lost or don’t have or never had.  Shame on me.  Shame on us all.

God of Miracles, open my eyes to see what You have done for me.  Open my mind to recognize Your miracles and Your everyday working in my life and circumstances.  Open my mouth in gratitude.  Open my heart in love.  Open my spirit in worship.

 

2 thoughts on “The Widow of Zarephath (I Kings 17:8-24)

  1. JJ,
    Thank you for the great remimder to be looking for ways God is providing for me everyday. Are these not God’s reminder that He loves me and will take care of me because I am His? I belong to Him and He willl never leave me; even when I am ungrateful, grumble and even ignore Him. How I must grieve Him, but He never stops loving and caring for me. Forgive me Father for my ingratitude. Help me to obey You and share Your love with others you put in my life; the two things You ask me to do in response to You. Amen.
    How are things going with you this winter?

    Blessings,

    Sent via the Samsung GALAXY S®4, an AT&T 4G LTE smartphone

    Like

Leave a Reply

