Sweet as Honey

“As I looked, I saw a hand stretched out toward me.  In it was a scroll.  He spread the scroll in front of me.  There was writing on the front and back.  There were funereal songs, songs of mourning and horrible things written on it.  Yahweh said to me, ‘Son of man, eat what you find.  Eat this scroll.  Then speak to the people of Israel.’  So I opened my mouth, and He gave me the scroll to eat.  He said to me, ‘Son of man, eat this scroll I’m giving you, and fill your stomach with it.’  So I ate it, and it tasted as sweet as honey in my mouth.”  (Ezekiel 2:9-3:3, God’s Word Translation)

Amazing.  How could a scroll filled front and back with funeral songs, songs of mourning and horrible things taste as sweet as honey?  I would think sad and horrible things would taste bitter, but they didn’t.  Why not? 

Is it because God gave Ezekiel the scroll to eat that it tasted sweet?  Is it because the events in our lives and the Word are separate and distinct?

This section of Scripture teaches a great lesson.  No matter what the events in our lives or the circumstances around us, the Word of God is always sweet.  God’s Word will always give us the sweetness and inner joy to overpower the bitterness this fallen world tries to make us swallow.  We don’t have to allow circumstances to dictate to our spirit.  We can have peace, joy and sweetness as long as we’re deep in His Word.  No matter what God allows to come into our lives, His Word contains the sweetness we need to overcome. 

Leave a Reply

