Expecting an Answer

“I am a laughingstock to my neighbors.  I am one who calls on God and expects an answer.  A man of integrity, a man of righteousness, has become a laughingstock.”  (Job 12:4, God’s Word Translation).

 “I am one who calls on God and expects an answer.”  We all call on God and we all expect an answer.  The problem lies in our expectation.  We already know the answer we want and that is the answer we expect to get. 

When my husband began to drift away from me and towards another woman, I called on God and expected Him to step in, and He did.  That problem was that my expectation went too far – I expected a specific end result – the restoration of my marriage.  I can say with absolute certainty that God did everything He could to save my marriage.  I saw God do some amazing things to get my husband to wake up and honor his marriage vows.  I saw the struggle he went through as God was dealing with him.  However, God gave each and everyone of us free will and my husband’s choice was to leave.  My expectation of a restored marriage made my divorce that much harder to deal with and caused me extra pain.  In fact, it was two years until I realized everything God had done on behalf of our marriage and acknowledged that He had done everything He could to save it.

 We need to call on God and expect Him to answer.  Our expectation has to be for Him to show up and work in ordinary and amazing ways.  Our expectation has to leave the end result to Him.  Our expectation has to be for Him to do what’s best, and not for Him to do what we want.

One thought on “Expecting an Answer

  1. Thanks again Janet Jean.
    Would love to hear how things are going at your new job. How can I be praying?

    Ella Miller
    ReachGlobal
    Crisis Response

    Like

Leave a Reply

