I Only Wanted

The phrase kept running through my head
So I decided to get it out and on paper

I only wanted to be loved and cherished and held close
I only wanted to be comforted and encouraged
I only wanted to be needed, not used
I only wanted to please, not disappoint

God wants to love me and cherish me and hold me close, but I won’t let Him
God is trying to comfort me and encourage me but I don’t listen and when I do listen, I don’t believe
God needs me, but I see it as wanting to use me
It’s each person’s choice to be satisfied or not

God too wants to be loved and cherished and held close
How He must hurt – much more than I do
Still, He reaches out and offers what we ignore or refuse

God too wants to be needed and not used
How He must hurt – much more than I do
Still, He reaches out and offers what we ignore or refuse

God’s purpose isn’t to please, but to provide the best
Like spoiled children
we demand something else or something more

God’s purpose isn’t to disappoint, but to discipline
Like spoiled children
we throw tantrums and cry and complain

Like a loving father, Father continues
to provide the best for us and to discipline us
ignoring our pouting and self-pity
Hoping that one day we’ll understand
Knowing He’ll have to wait until heaven

Only tremendous love
can bear so much pain and hurt

 

Leave a Reply

