In God’s Breast Pocket

Me: Excuse me. God? Um, I think there’s been a mistake. My life just isn’t what I thought it would be. I always believed my beloved husband and I would grow old together, but he left me for someone else. So then I thought You would send another husband to love me and provide for me, and help around the house, but You haven’t and it’s hard work and it takes so much time and I’m a bit lonely.

God: Let’s see. We’ll get out your Book of Life and check. Janet Jean, right? White house with all the trees? No, that’s right. It’s just you and Buster Brown.

Oh. Well, how about the job? It’s downtown and that’s a long commute and (I gave God the list, but won’t bore you with it).

Let’s see. Downtown job – no, that’s right where We have you.

Oh. Well, about all those hard things in my life (another long list). Were they supposed to happen?

Supposed to happen? Not really – My original plan was Eden for everyone. However people keep making the wrong choices. People keep choosing to sin and go their own way. But whatever happened to you because of your poor choices or because of the poor choices of others, We made sure We were right there with you through the hard times and that you had everything you needed to learn and grow in spite of them.

Oh. Well, is it going to get better? Easier? Will I

Now Janet Jean, you know I won’t tell you. I will take care of the future and help you with the present just like I’ve done in the past. Remember?

Oh yes! I remember. Thank You so much for all You’ve done for me. You took care of everything and saw me through so much. I do appreciate You. It’s just that I was hoping…

I know My child. Remember when I asked you to give Me your hopes and dreams? You were expecting Me to put them in a pretty little box with your name on it, tie it in a ribbon and put it on a shelf. But what did you see Me do?

(With a tearful smile and closed eyes) You put them in Your breast pocket.

(With a tender touch) Here they are My child, and here they’ll stay. You’ll be fine – just trust Me. You will do well. Let Me help. Here, let Me show you your Book before you go:

Janet Jean, My Beloved Everything

2 thoughts on “In God’s Breast Pocket

  1. Thank you Janet Jean. Beautiful. Precious. Tender. A wonderful reminder of our loving, caring LORD.

    Pat

    But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8

    On Sun, May 19, 2013 at 9:47 PM, hisrevealings

    Like

  2. Wow, that’s powerful. Keep them coming. Thanks.

      WordPress.com janetjeandobda posted: “Me: Excuse me. God? Um, I think there’s been a mistake. My life just isn’t what I thought it would be. I always believed my beloved husband and I would grow old together, but he left me for someone else. So then I thought You would send another husb”

    Like

Leave a Reply

