The GPS Parable

I bought a GPS to help me drive to unfamiliar places. The GPS talks to me and tells me when and where to turn. I went to a conference in St. Charles – a place I’d never been to. The GPS didn’t seem to be connecting with the satellite from my apartment complex – too much interference. Doubting that I’d be able to get this high tech gadget to work, I went into Mapquest and printed directions. Lo and behold, as soon as I got away from the apartment, the satellite connection was made and I was in business. So I programmed the address and started out.

Dilemma! Mapquest and the GPS had conflicting opinions on the route I should take. I had a decision to make. To trust the map – where I could see the entire route – or to trust the GPS that was only giving me one section at a time. I decided the GPS had the latest and greatest information, put the paper map aside and trusted the voice giving me one direction at a time.

Mapquest is like the world. The world tells us the pathway to “success”. Follow these steps and you’ll achieve X. GPS is God’s Positioning Spirit. He knows exactly where I am. He sees the whole picture. He knows the best pathway. The problem is He only gives us one direction at a time and His directions often conflict with what the world thinks, says and does. So each of us has to decide – are we going to trust what we can see in the world, or are we going to trust God’s Positioning Spirit?

One thought on “The GPS Parable

  1. Super analogy. Thanks for sharing, JanetJean

    But God demonstrates His own love toward us, in that while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us. Romans 5:8

    On Sun, Apr 14, 2013 at 5:16 PM, hisrevealings

    Like

Leave a Reply

